Deactivating Encryption Methods

If you no longer want to apply an activated encryption method to the email traffic of your domain, deactivate the encryption method.

You have activated an encryption method for Email Encryption.

If you no longer want to apply an activated encryption method to the email traffic of your domain, deactivate the encryption method.

  1. Log in to the Control Panel with your administrative credentials.
  2. From the scope selection, select the domain for which you would like to activate Email Encryption.
  3. Navigate to Security Settings > Email Encryption.
  4. Select the tab Encryption Policies.
  5. Under Encryption methods, click on the encryption method you would like to deactivate.
    Note:

    The encryption method TLS is always activated. You cannot deactivate this encryption method.

    Figure 1: Deactivate encryption method

    A confirmation window appears.

  6. Important:

    Once you deactivate an encryption method, all rules that refer to the encryption method are deactivated. If you reactivate the encryption method later, the rules remain deactivated. You can reactivate the rules manually (see Activating a Rule).

    To confirm the deactivation of the encryption method, click on Confirm.
    Figure 2: Confirm deactivation

    The encryption method is deactivated. The button of the encryption method turns dark grey. All rules referring to the encryption method will be deactivated as well.

You have deactivated an encryption method for the email traffic of your domain.