Hierarchy of Deny and Allow List Entries

The deny list and allow list entries are processed in the following order from the highest to the lowest priority:

  • User allow list
  • User deny list
  • Domain and group allow list
  • Domain and group deny list

If the system finds a fitting entry on either list, the execution is stopped and the remaining entries are not checked.

Example: Processing hierarchy of deny list and allow list entries

An admin adds the sender address example@example.com to the domain deny list. A user adds this sender address to his allow list. The emails from that account will be delivered to the user, but not to any other user who has not added that account to the allow list.